Prayers for Africa – May 25 (Africa Day)

Nkosi Sikelel’ iAfrika.

God seën Afrika.

God bless Africa.

Mudzimu fhatutshedza Afurika.

Hosi katekisa Afrika.

The following prayer is from waynevisser.com

Prayer for Africa

Dear God

For the love of Africa

Hear my prayer

Africa is the cradle of your creation

Therefore, grant me patience

To nurture growth and goodness

In this great land

Africa is the rainbow of your heavens

Therefore, grant me tolerance

To celebrate difference and diversity

Across this wide continent

Africa is the drumbeat of your heart

Therefore, grant me courage

To offer comfort and compassion

In the face of her people’s trials

To the prisons of poverty inAfrica

Let me bring the liberation of choice

And to the deserts of her suffering

Cool streams of relief

To the tunnels of deception in Africa

Let me bring lamps of truth

And to the jungles of her conflict

Flags of reconciliation

To the caves of despair in Africa

Let me bring voices of hope

And to the swamps of her fear

Whispers of comfort

Wherever Africa teaches her children

Share the lessons of my fading past

And where she dreams of tomorrow

Set my feet on the path of progress

Wherever Africa raises her leaders

Judge my support by democracy’s voice

And where she breathes in community

Join my breath with inspiration

Wherever Africa cherishes her wilderness

Mark my celebration of nature’s bounty

And where she cares for her people

Watch my spirit swell with love

For the love ofAfrica

Hear my prayer

Dear God.

 

For more prayers for different countries in Africa, see http://www.amahoro-africa.org/files/prayers-for-africa.pdf

Leave a Reply

